Ciao, Firenze!


Wow! Apologies for the delay in posting…again. Oh the woes of a busy, study-abroad student in Rome. Well, a couple weekends ago I went with some friends to Florence. I took a train by myself to meet some girls that had left earlier in the day. And as evidenced by this blog post, I am still alive and succeeded to get there safely. We sprung for a one-star hotel which turned out to be awful. Guess you do get what you pay for. The toilet paper was decorated with little flower designs and the sheets were clean, so I guess I can’t complain too much.

The first night we had a fabulous dinner. Amazing! I had an amazing wood slab piled high with hamburger, pork chops, thick bacon still on the bone, and ribs. For anyone that knows me, you know that I was in heaven.

The next day we headed bright and early to the Duomo. Its the cathedral church of Florence and is actually called Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore. Duomo is much easier though. This cathedral is actually one of the largest churches in Italy, and yes, it was HUMUNGOUS. We took a tour to take a closer look at the BEAUTIFUL ceiling, and then to stand outside the dome and look out at all of Florence (which is kinda small really).

After that we went to the market. Lots and lots and lots and lots of leather and fun galore. Even though I didn’t intend to buy anything, the shopaholic in me couldn’t resist, and I got myself a fabulous deal on a leather jacket and a wallet. The smell of leather is just to difficult to avoid when its wafting from all directions.

Then we went to the Academia which houses Michelangelo’s Davide. He is HUGE. Much larger than any of us thought. I figured he’d be life-size, or maybe a tad bigger, but wow he was a giant. Seventeen feet tall to be exact. And, he was beautiful. Its amazing anyone could sculpt anything that large out of marble let alone make it look good. David seemed very attractive and Michelangelo deserves a high-five for that beautifully sculpted behind. Of course, there was many other cool pieces of artwork displayed and neato things to see, but honestly, I was really only interested in that.

We had dinner at a place that could not compete with the previous nights dinner and went to bed. I think it was a successful weekend, how bout you?

Enhanced by Zemanta

5 responses to “Ciao, Firenze!

  1. very good post, i actually love this web site, keep on it

  2. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way! <

  3. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days..

  4. There’s a little sign with a saying on it in your picture where you’re eating. What does this mean? “Cuando non si ha ciò che si ama, bisogne amare ciò che si ha.” Wait! Does it mean, “If you can’t be with the one you love, love the one you’re with?” OMG! Tell me if I’m right!

Leave a Reply

